Books….and a comment about a really creepy spider at work…

So, I am super pumped up.  For a couple of reasons!  First, I finally purchased Dragons of the Hourglass Mage.  Hooray!  It came out last fall (August, actually) in hardcover, but if any of you have seen my DragonLance collection, you’ll know that they’re all paperback!  So, much to my dismay, I had to wait (I’m not always very good at the patience thing) until they released the paperback copy this spring.  It came out on May 4th, but I’ve been busy & poor, so I just picked it up today at Borders.  Woop Woop!  Can’t wait to read it!

Secondly (and I’m sure Christy & Lee Lee will be thrilled) I think I’m kind of a closet case for the Twilight books.  I read them one weekend (one right after the other…it was pretty great) and I had (still have) mixed feelings about them.  I really like the story that’s being told, and it kind of over-does my drama quota (like, for a whole 5 year period), but they’re pretty engaging.  Which is kind of suprising for me to say, because I normally DO NOT care for books written in the 1st person narrative.  I think that has a lot to do with the fact that I pretty much constantly have an inner dialogue (yes, dialouge – not monologue) and it’s really hard for me to get into someone else’s head-speech when mine is usually so very different from their’s (“their’s” being the character of the book).  I read the Percy Jackson books, and it wasn’t until almost the very end of the 1st book that I was finally able to get over the way a 12-year-old boy thinks and just enjoy the story.  Granted, that particular series was written for a much younger audience than the Twilight books were, but it’s the same general concept.

I like to think that I wasn’t ever QUITE as awkward as Bella, and I have to say that the whole emo-esque feel to their romance sometimes has me rolling my eyes, but overall (like I said earlier) I think it was a good story.  Lots of conflict and drama and suspence and the whole rigamarole of deciding Alive or Undead?

I think the thing that bothered me the the most about the Twilight books (#s 2 and 3 to be specific) is the way it made my insides feel.  You know that place right under your ribs, not quite low enough to be considered part of the stomach, but not quite high enough to fall into the ‘chest’ category?  Yeah, that part.  I cried (not a couple of tears, actual honest-to-goodness sobbing) through most of the 2nd book and nearly all of the 3rd book.  Maybe it’s because I’ve been in a kind-of parallel situation before…and all I could think of was losing him all over again, and I just couldn’t handle that.  So….even though my family didn’t appreciate me for a while, and I was an emotional mess for about 6 months straight, I had to make a decision and it turns out it was the right one to make (Bella & I can at least relate on that aspect…knowing, in the end, who to pick for the ‘forever’ part).

Additionally, shortly after reading the 4 published books in the series, I happened across the unpublished partial draft of Midnight Sun, and was totally blown away.  I can say, without any uncertainty at all, that I would MUCH prefer the books from Edward’s point of view.  He’s got a lot more insight than your run-of-the-mill teenage girl, and his inner thought processes are definitely easier to get into…at least, for me anyway, I find that it’s much easier for me to read when I’m inside Edwards head than it was for me to read from inside of Bella’s….if that makes any sense.

Lee Lee’s also got me reading the first book in another series that she hearts a lot, but I haven’t made it very far yet, so I’ll save any comments on that one until I’m at least done with the first book (we’re still undecided about weather or not I’ll be reading the rest).

About the creepy spider at work.  I’ve got the heebie-jeebies.  Yuck.

So, the other day (Thursday morning, I believe) we noticed that there was a fat juicy black spider hanging down from the celing.  Probably 4-6 inches of super-gross spider web keeping him attached to one of those drop style panels that so many office spaces use.  Everyone thought he was dead, since he just hung there.  I swore I saw him move around, but I’m kind of paranoid when it comes to those things, so I guess my original visions probably can’t be relied upon too heavily.

When we saw again this morning that he was still just hanging there, in the same spot as yesterday, that was pretty much a deal-breaker for the rest of the department.  Spider was dead.  End of story.

HOWEVER, at about ten after 5 this evening (keep in mind, I still have 20 minutes of work left before I can get the heck outta dodge) the spider sways a bit on his strand of silk (shudder) and then climbs back up and parks himself on the celing.

So, no, the creepy oversized unwelcome possum-playing spider was NOT dead afterall.  Which really REALLY gives me an extreme case of the creepy-crawlies…knowing that he was just hanging there, watching us.  Probably plotting my downfall.  I swear to God, if he’s not in the EXACT same place when I get in on Monday, I’m gonna have kittens.  What if he’s in my desk?   Or behind my monitor?  Or in my highlighter jar?  He’s gonna bite me and I’m gonna die and that will be the end of my well-meaning, barely-started blog.  How sad. 😦

Ooh – Sidetracked!  There are a couple of really big fuzzy bumble bees buzzing around one of my plants.  Yay and what-have-you.

Anyway, that’s the end of my sort-of book discussion.  There are lots of others out there that I like, but none that I feel strongly enough about to write about them RIGHT now.  I’m gonna go chillax and flip channels for a while.  Go Twinkies!

Leave a Reply

